an ode to the only person i’d rather live with than have my own room

IMG_0840.JPG

marlis muschal
patron saint
earthly goodness goddess smiling and slipping

i had a task to write a chapter today
i have been awake four hours

i have written 15 emails
4 messages
arranged two meetings
bought my mother presents
prepared to plant seeds
brushed my wig for the week
cleaned my room
written a poem
practiced the banjo
done laundry
and written a not quite poem not quite letter
to you

it is sunny
i may go running

it was you who taught me
the phrase
productive procrastination

if anything
this memoir i write
will help me recover
but not how i foretold
just in the doing
the doing of things

Leave a Reply

