goodnight me, goodnight kitakyushu

i fall
to sleep now

it is the last time i’ll be alone

for three days.

takashi comes over tomorrow, to help me sort a pile of Japanese papers
kae comes over tomorrow, to take manuals and a box and my duvet

train
and i will be surrounded

then so many children

train
and i will be surrounded

mari comes over at night, to pass the hours
to make sure i don’t cry closed up in the oshiire
like the night before i left fukui

then ben will move me out of my apartment
i’ll wade through fukuoka
somehow make my way to the airport
where sayuri will be there to say goodbye

and i will be surrounded

Leave a Reply

